Add new users to your portal and assign the suitable user roles. This is relevant when setting up a new portal, or if you need to add additional users. In order to share documents and/ or Board Book and Meeting Minutes, you need to first add the users to the Board Portal.
This article contains the following sections:
- Manage users and permissions (video)
Manage users and permissions
This video is for administrators that want to learn more about managing users and permissions, and how to administer multiple user groups within the board portal.
Add new user(s)
You can choose to add either one or multiple users.
Add single user
Add a user by selecting Add single user and type full name and e-mail address. We recommend you to fill out this information when adding a user.
Add multiple users
Add multiple users by selecting Add multiple users and paste a semicolon separated list of email addresses. When adding multiple users, it is not possible to add other information than the e-mail address. Make sure all the e-mail addresses are valid. Only semicolon (;) can be used to separate the addresses. Select one or more user roles from the list.
If you select the box for Send invitation, the user(s) will receive an e-mail to register. Click Add user to send the invitation(s). The new user(s) will receive an e-mail with an invitation to register and log in. New users will not appear in the Active Users list until they have registered.
Register new user(s)
If you do not want to send out an invitation to the new user(s), you do not select Send invitation. The user(s) will not receive an e-mail invitation, and hence not get access to the portal. Click Add user to register the users without sending out an invitation. You can then find the list of the user(s) under Settings > Manage users and permissions > Unregistered users. When you want to invite the user(s) to the portal, you can send out invitations from here.
A system role describes the rights a user has within the portal. Select the system role that is the most suitable for each user.
Readers can view documents in viewer. Download and print are restricted for all documents.
Read and print
Read and Print users can view, download and print according to document settings.
Users can view, download and print according to document settings. They can also contribute by uploading files and changing own content.
Content administrators have full control over all content in folders they have access to. They cannot make changes to users’ access and roles.
Administrators have full control over content and settings. They can add and change users’ access and roles.